Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Jonathan Ball

@ Sunday Times Books LIVE

New Edition of Robyn Scott’s Twenty Chickens for a Saddle

Twenty Chickens for a SaddleRobyn Scott“This is both a wonderful memoir of an exotic childhood and a striking portrait of one of the world’s most beguiling countries. A gem of a book.” — Alexander McCall Smith

This is a contemporary classic childhood memoir that is packed with charmingly eccentric tales of family life and wild animals in a small Botswana village stories.

It’s perfect for fans of Gerald Durrell’s My family and Other Animals, Peter Godwin’s Mukiwa and Alexandra Fuller’s Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight.

When Robyn Scott was six years old her parents abruptly exchanged the tranquil pastures of New Zealand for a converted cowshed in the wild of Botswana, where their three small children grew up collecting snakes, canoeing with crocodiles and breaking in horses in the veld. Linda Scott haphazardly and single-handedly homeschooled Robyn, Damien and Lulu, while Keith ran a flying doctor practice and attempted, with erratic success, to adapt to the unique demands of rural clinics and the growing burden of AIDS.

Funny and unsentimental, Twenty Chickens for a Saddle is an account of a remarkable childhood and a unique portrait of modern Botswana, one of Africa’s rare democratic success stories. This is a contemporary classic childhood memoir that is packed with charmingly eccentric tales of family life and wild animals in a small Botswana village stories. It is an uplifting, engaging and deeply affectionate portrayal of an extraordinary place and family.

Book details

 

Please register or log in to comment